Video Card Dilemma (need a very high performance card: 6800 gt-sli/ultra? x850 xt?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Like said, I am very very new to this computer building era. Can you possibly reword that into dummy terms?
lol honestly I thought that was being dummy terms, I'm a horrible teacher so it isn't going to get much better than that. Especially if you're looking into overclocking you need to familiarize yourself with your board and what it's capable of.

You need to find out if your board is 1600 or 2000HTT speed.

You have a CPU HTT and a Multiplier, all AMD64 CPU HTT's by default are 200, and the multiplier determines how fast the clock speed is. If it's a 2GHz cpu it'd be 200x10

So with that Ram for faster performance you would want to run it at 250x(whatever) to create your final clock speed which depends of course on whether or not you wanted to OC your CPU or not. Higher HTT without lowering the multi would of course result in a higher clock speed. 250x10 = 2.5GHz

Except for AMD64 FX's the multipliers can only be lowered on the AMD64s, but like I said there's another multiplier, the HTT Link speed multiplier that gives that 2000 or 1600HTT of your board overall speed, if it's a 2000bus board then it's 5x, if it's a 1600bus board the link speed is 4x.

If you raise your CPU HTT beyond 200 you'd have to lower that HTT Link speed multiplier so you don't OC your board overall bus which they don't like doing at all

Guess an AMD64 overclocking guide really needs to be written here and stickied since Kangaroos mainly applies to intels and socket A systems the suggestions kind of apply but could still be confusing...buuuut yeah I'm lazy :p

The beauty of the 6800GT is that it's cheap now, and you can add a second one later. If ATI's next gen cards (or nvidia's) cards blow it outta the water you can just get one. 6800GT is also great for a single card solution, hell a 6600GT does me fine :)