are these computer parts compatible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Calzinger

Beer
These are the parts for my new computer, but I'm unsure if the parts will actually work. This is the first computer I've ever built so I'm a major newbie. So my basic question is: are these parts compatible?

Read my signature if it gets difficult to read in the list below.
  • MSI "K8N Neo4 Platinum SLI" NVIDIA nForce4 SLI Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL $179.50
  • XFX nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card, 256MB GDDR3, 256-Bit, Dual DVI/TV-Out, PCI-E, Model "PVT45GUD" -RETAIL $384.00
  • AMD Athlon 64 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache, Socket 939 64-bit Processor - Retail $190.00
  • Geil Ultra Series Dual Channel Kit 184-Pin 1GB (512MBx2) DDR PC-4400 w/ Copper Heat Spreader w/ Temp Thermometer, Model GL1G4400DC - Retail $222.50
  • Seagate 7200.8 300GB 7200RPM SATA NCQ Hard Drive, Model ST3300831AS-RK, -RETAIL $209.00
  • OCZ PowerStream 520W Power Supply With Adjustable Power Rails With LED Indicators, SATA Connector, Model "OCZ520ADJ" -RETAIL $143.00
  • Athena Power 20pin (ATX Male) to 20pin (ATX Female) Extension Cable, Model Cable-AD11 $9.00
  • NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive, Silver w/ Software Model ND-3520A, OEM $62.49
  • SILVERSTONE TEMJIN Series Silver ATX Full Tower Case with Window and Wind Tunnel, Model "SST-TJ06S-W" -RETAIL $145.40
total: $1544.89

I have been told of the following issues but I do believe they are corrected with added parts (ie. 20 to 20 extension cable).
  • The case throws the motherboard upside down. Given the case's size, there have been many problems with getting the power cable to reach the motherboard. I have added a 20pin to 20pin extension cable to correct this, but I am unsure if I need a 20pin to 20pin or a 20pin to 24pin. Which do I need to buy?
  • Apparently my motherboard doesn't support 4400 ram so it will just get clocked down to 3200. Can it be OC'ed to optimize the ram?