RAID array help

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrT*

Beta member
Hey everyone. I'm new here and looking for some help. I have a couple of questions about RAID arrays and I figured you guys could help me out. I want to set up a RAID 0 array on my comp(for gaming), but I don't really know what setup would work best. 2 HDD's at 10000 RPM or 3 or more HDD's at 7200 RPM? It seems to me that the popular setup is 2 at 10000. Could someone shed some light on this? Secondly, I don't know what type of controller to get. I have an Intel 865GLC mobo, and Intel's website says that the mobo "supports RAID technology", but I don't exactly know what that means. Are there any previous post, websites or books that someone can refer me to for answers. I'm sorry to ask such a simple question, but I'm new to upgrading comp's and I'm looking for some help. Thanks

I would go with 10000 rpm. Mainly because it just seems more logical, I mean faster harddrives = faster speed??? I would think so. RAID technology is actually rather old, so most motherboards support it now. Most motherboards come with their own software or built-in RAID arrays/software.

I would go with 3 120gig seagate drives. Ive got 2 in raid0 and sis sandra shows me that the difference in transfer speed between mine and 2 10000 raptors is only 2mb/s. so i would of though 3 of these drives would easily out perform the 2 raptors

Your motherboard should have came with a floppy disc with a special Raid driver on it, In order to setup the drives to be used with raid you will need to install the driver to these drives befor you format them.... I think... Ive never had the chance to work with raid/sata

aj2003 said:
I would go with 3 120gig seagate drives. Ive got 2 in raid0 and sis sandra shows me that the difference in transfer speed between mine and 2 10000 raptors is only 2mb/s. so i would of though 3 of these drives would easily out perform the 2 raptors