Backup, Help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jolancer

Daemon Poster
note- im a noob to HD cloning.

situation...

im goin to help a friend backup his HD installation. this is what i was thinking... i'd use norton ghost to copy a backup image of his OS partition onto his Data partition. then creat a boot disk that could run the backup image to restore all installation/os information on the OSpartition.

1. iv never used norton ghost

2. iv never backed up a HD

so can notron ghost do what im thinking? and would it be pritty self explanitory. its not hard for me to learn software just by looking threw it. but if theres stuff i should know beforhand to make things easyer, please post it.

also, if its possible to creat a boot disk to restore the entire OS partition threw the ghost backup image on 2nd partition(even if the OSpartition is totally erased for example). please post a checklist on creating such a disk, because ima noob at boot disks aswell.

unless the ghost image can be activated withouta boot disk, please let me know... because i dont have norton ghost, im not going to have access to it till i get over to his place. and the more i know b4 hand the better. Thx.

hope this isn't too late...
Norton Ghost is very cool and extremely function for situations like what you are explaining. I use it all the time, as it's the best solution for backing up and creating images that I have seen.
The backup process is very simple. You are just cloning off the drive you select. If you run through the command line, you have to understand how partition tables work, as well as disc I/O. Meaning which is disc 0 and 1... and which partition you are wanting to work with. the gui mode is a lot easier to start out on, but I can walk you through creating a batch or whatever for you. Also, the image process, Restore, is about the same. you just need to make sure you know what is the backup partition and which is the area you want to over write.