Raid controller not installed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phil29

Beta member
Hi guys

I'm a newbie here, so be gentle!

Ok, yesterday I switched on my machine and nothing happened, just greeted with a blank screen, no bootup menu or whirring of HDD. Rebooted 2 mins later, and still nothing. I leave it 2 minutes again and the PC boots. However, while the PC is booting up, I get a message beginning with "Overclocking failed......." can't remember the exact message sorry, but the PC booted up normally. Ok I've never tried overclocking before, so don't know why it's telling me that

Ok, so I restart my Machine, and on bootup I get the message "No drive attached to Fastrack Controller - The BIOS is not installed" When Windows loads, I go into device manager and there's a question mark next to Raid controller I click on it and it tells me "RAID controller not installed"

Until now the PC has worked fine with no problems. Even with this problem, the PC is running fine at the moment. If it's any extra help, for about 5 months a
loud whirring or buzzing (like a motor or fan working) has been coming from the PC, which only lasts for about 5 minutes then goes, this has suddenly stopped altogether. Could this be connected to this problem?

Any help would be appreciated

My System:
ASUS K8V Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3000
1 GB Kingston DDR400 RAM
Maxtor 120GB SATA HDD
Radeon 9800XT
Sound Blaster Audigy
10/100 Ethernet card
Window XP (SP1)
DVD ROM drive

If you don't have raid, that comes up.
If you failed because of overclocking the board should take care of it.

You have an Asus board

They have problems with randomly generating "overclocking failed" messages, same thing happens to me.

The raid controller is not installed because you do not use it, and most likely never will.

The whirring noise you hear while booting is the ball bearings in a fan being too small when cold but they heat up to proper size.