help( Linux is less prone to virus attack than Windows?).

Status
Not open for further replies.

fancy

Beta member
I am new at this and I thank everyone in advance for any help.

I have a question...

Is the Open Source Linux operating system is less prone to virus attack than Windows. Find three web pages that help you to decide if they are right.

thax for all:)

this is only going to start a flame war, I hope you know... :/
but anyway, in the general thought of how viruses spread, Yes, Linux is less prone, but that is only due to the fact that most Viruses have been writting to exploit windows. Since only a few viruses have been writting to exploit Unix\Linux, it's not been very public. It comes down to a simple truth,

Windows is the most widley used OS, so inorder for a Virus writter to get the fame he desires, he will hit the largest audience. The ease of doing so doesn't matter. It could be the most difficult OS in the world, but if it was the most widley used, guess what they are going to do...

My 2 cents on the thought...

You can be almost certain that Linux is less prone to virus infection compared to Windows. Don't need websites to prove that.

Inaris

m3trj

I am sorry for this question... but the question is a homework(Assignments )

You could mention that as long as you're not logged in as root a virus could do little damage to you system outside your home account anyway

Linux is less prone to virus attacks than Windows, but there are many reasons why that don't necissarily have anything to do with the OS itself or whether it's open-source or not.

Basically, this kind of statement is only good for stirring up a nest of anti-Windows geeks from the dark holes where they dwell.

m3trj said:
lol, as long as he's done his homework he won't get into any trouble.
No kidding. 85% of users who are having problems with Windows, especially viruses, are because they surf stupidly and don't read any of the manuals.

I rarley do this, but: