windows me

Status
Not open for further replies.

dhsrcjh

In Runtime
Does windows me have dos that I can get into? I want to format the hard drive and reinstall everything. A reinstall over the me operating system there will not do what I want to. Is there a better way to do it? Also thought of going to xp but either way, I would like to wipe it all out first.

The computer was given to me by a friend. He has a new one and was having so much trouble out of it that he did not want to worry with it anymore. My computer has 98 and XP in it. To me, 98 is much more stable than XP. Xp is a lot faster but just does so many crazy things all the time. Sometimes it won't even start, sometimes just the blue screen, sometimes a lot of my software will not load, I have some hardware than I have the drivers for XP and it still won't work with Xp but will in 98. There are a lot more things but that is just a few.
I have never used ME before that is why I was wondering about it.
If I do a clean install, what about the drivers for the sound? I have disks for the monitor but not for the sound. It is a dell and has a recovery disk but it says on the disk that it does not contain any drivers.

xp is basically win2k pro in a more user friendly GUI meant for stupid computer illeterate people. the only thing i dislike about xp is all the wizards. it treats you like your some kind of idiot. when you install it it should ask you whether you want a wizard every 5 minutes or not. btw, if you're going to be reformatting off of a dos boot disc make sure it supports big drives. if you try dos 6 or anything like that it will only format 2gb. are you sure your friend didn't have some kind of disc that came with it? like utilities or something? like with dells they always come with utitilites where if you start em up they start with a command prompt. i saved my old dell utility disc for my new computer just so i could get large disc support and have a good command line

bandage_boy said: