A Solid Gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThePriceisRight

Solid State Member
Well I'm a relative noob to the PC tech world, I haven't built a PC yet and don't plan to for a while. I recently got enough money to get what I think is a suitably good gaming PC that will perform quite well and last a good amount of time. I'm buying off directpc.com and I am very close to finalizing this build. Please comment on whether these parts are a good fit for games like World of Warcraft, Rome: Total War, Half Life 2, and the upcoming Battlefield 2.

The specs: DX-980-A: X-Machine

- Case: 17 Inch Codegen BrizA Mid Tower (Black/Silver)
- Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (2.2 GHz) 512KB cache 939-pin
- Motherboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe (chipset nVidia nForce4 SLI)
- DDR Memory: Single mode : 1 x 1024 MB DDR 400 MHz / PC3200 184-pin
- Hard Drive with Serial ATA interface: 80 GB Serial ATA 150 / 7200 rpm 8MB cache
- Video Card (PCI Express x16): GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 [PCI-E x16] DVI / TV-out
- Sound Card: OnBoard High-Quality AC97 Audio System
- Optical Drive : 52x CD-ROM, IDE
- Optical Drive : 16x DVD-ROM w/ Software
- Removable Storage Device(s): 1.44 MB Floppy Disk Drive
- Network Card: Integrated LAN with Gigabit Controller
- Cathode Light & Additional Case Fan: Dual Cold Cathode Light 12" (Blue) & Case Fan w/ LED
- USB ports: At least 4 USB ports (2 Front and 2 Back)
- Power Supply: 400 Watt ATX 12V Power Supply (24-pin)
- CPU Cooling: Manufacturer's CPU Fan
- Operating Systems (OS): Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition w/ SP2
- Keyboard and Mouse: Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 3.0 w/Optical Mouse
-Speakers: 5.1 Logitech X-530 Speaker System

I originally thought that I would go with a big name comp from Alienware but reconsidered because it seemed I was paying a premium for the brand name.