geforce4 440 go

Status
Not open for further replies.

StrifeX

Baseband Member
k i am getting a laptop with a athlon 64 3000 and a geforce4 440 go and 256mb ram (planning on upgrading that). How well will it perform? Was i ripped off, i spent 600?

laptop with Gf4 technology should be pretty decent in terms of a laptop, but I'm not a mobile expert so I couldn't tell ya. Price seems reasonable

cool. does any one have any suggestions on how well it will perform?
I'd expect on par with a GF4 MX in a desktop probably, that's the low end of their cards, but still it's not bad. I wouldn't expect to do heavy gaming on it, but then again I'd never expect insane gaming on a laptop.

think the radeon mobility 9700 is one of the better laptop vid cards.
Yeah but that's probably newer laptops, I'm assuming his isn't state of the art fresh off the assembly :p

GeForce 4 MX, as much as it sucks, is better than an Intel Integrated Graphics chip. Sounds good for a laptop. I wouldn't use a laptop for gaming anyways.

hey the gforce 4 mx aint bad!
for a laptop graphics really arent important, id never buy a laptop for the purpose of games.... it should be great btw!!

I don't get what everybody is saying.

The G4 MX440 is horrible and still stuck in the DX7 era. It isn't even DX8 compliant.

But if you're not planning on using the laptop for gaming then it is fine for simple graphic apps and DVD playback. But in terms of gaming, that GPU is absolute well you know what. Also, why get a processor that powerful with such a weak GPU unless you're doing complex apps. That GPU will bottleneck the crazy out of that GPU. We're talking about the MX440 right? I'm more of an ATI guy so I'm not as knowledgable as a pure Nvidia guy.