having problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

TomW

In Runtime
Hello, I am playing with a 1999 pionex computer that died. first the hard drive died so I put in a used one, then while trying to install windows98 the cd drive died, so I put one of those in, Then it started to install windows and stopped to run scan disk, It said something about missing or bad sectors, so I F disked it and formated it again and then it says something about memory problem, then it ended up with no moniter and it would just make a long beep and the power botton don't work, I have to unplug it to shut it down, Is the mother board dead now to?It has a M5ALA with AMD-K6-2/400AFQ. I am just learning computer stuff so don't get to technical on me lol. Thanks, TomW

We have a new PC, I am just playing with the old one to try and learn about how things work. I got all the stuff used for real cheap so far, I won't put much money into it, like I said just a rainy day project. TomW

Thanks microbell, The board is all the same as it came in the machine. I will check that out. Is it possible that the used hard drive I used has a virus in it and is causing all the problems? Or will Fdisk and format get rid of everything on the drive? Thanks, TomW

I can't get it to do anything at all, When I turn things on the moniter clicks and the green light turns yellow and the screen is black. I tried holding delete and turning it on and still nothing. TomW

First of all, I would definatley suggest just saying screw the darn thing.. The board sucks!

But if you're like me, you still want to find a way to do it if you can

So, I would first of all go to Biostar's Website- http://biostar.com.tw and download the manuals for your M5ALA board and make sure all your jumper settings are correct before you trash the board.

It is a possiblity you may have moved a jumper by accident.

Then I would make sure and test the current components you have connected to the board, including the power supply.