Building a new shuttle system on the CHEAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

sprtnbsblplya

Daemon Poster
Here's an overview of my budget, I'm a college student that earns less than $250 a month, I'm having to sell off a Powermac G3 motherboard and its 448 MB RAM, selling off an old copy of Windows XP, and my copy of iLife 05 just to help finance this project. I'm really just intending this system to suffice my need to play an occaisional game, as Macs, as we all know, are not the best for games...

I am going to buy a Shuttle SK41G case I found for $130.
Into this I am going to put something like an Athlon XP 2200+ or 2400+.
512 MB RAM (add more in the summer when I have real income)
A used CD-RW drive that was given to me (dual layer DVD burner this summer)
Radeon 9550 128 MB 128 bit memory (probably update the bios to Radeon 9600)
120 GB 7200 RPM 8 MB cache (probably Magnetic Data Technology brand, they're real cheap)

That's really all I plan on adding so far, I just bought a brand new iBook G4, so I dont have much cash flow for a big system right now, plus I want something tiny that won't take up space on my desk at my frat.
Now, what do you think of these components? Also, I would like to play Doom 3, HL 2, and Halo on this, I understand that these components obviously won't make these games look amazing, but can I expect them to be playable?
Thanks so much for your help.

your gonna waste money gettin a shuttle case
whats your budget? im sure i can make or others can make a great setup

whats wrong with shuttle?

I know Shuttle isnt high performance, but its better than all the other XPC offerings I've seen.
I know I can get a better tower system for the money, but I don't want a tower, if I wanted a tower I'd get a full out AMD-64, no question about that.
But, I have a tiny desk and want a tiny pc, I'm a huge Mac fan and considered the Mac Mini, but it has terribly weak hardware and isnt very upgradable, so now I'm considering the XPC form factor.