Ok so i ordered a sata hd and...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi.Im.New

In Runtime
my other hd is IDE. I dont believe i can hook this hd up to my mb is there like a connector kit i can use for my sata hd to mb?
I have a asus NFORCE2 A7N8X DELUXE mb. Im new to sata and have no clue,finals all week long, ty would be a huge help.

Your SATA hard drive SHOULD come with a SATA ribbon cable, one something like this: http://tinyurl.com/5gsvj If not, you need to get one. There is also a special power cord for it as well. http://tinyurl.com/5fgr4 Some power supplies have one already on there, some don't.

Other than that, it's more a matter of telling the motherboard that you want to you the SATA than anything. Are you going to put your o/s on the SATA or use it as back up? How big is it? Do you have a floppy drive? Did you get the drivers for the SATA? Liz

the sata is gonna be used as the master and the old 80gb hd is gonna be the slave...ive been having errors that make my comp restart with the minidump so i needed more room and i got this 200gb sata...so im gonna put the OS on the sata...so there should be inputs for both those cables im gonna order?

Well, when finals are over, and you have all the parts in and have time to deal with this, then we can sit down and make sure you understand how to do this cause it is going to take step by step instructions for a first time install, esp if you do not have internet access while doing it. Do you have a second computer handy to ask questions while working on this one? Liz

ok ill be done friday... i just ordered a great laptop acre wmi 4500 trvlm8 2mb of l2 cache,runs solid and i just bought the buffalo router with 4nics/wireless and here product #WRB-G54K so yea ill be able to talk to u while doin it. Thanks for the help appreciate it.

Your SATA drive will support conventional Molex power source and your MB has native support.