Old Dell Mobo into a new case problems ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

HDSuperglider

Beta member
I am a noob and need help. I am trying to move my wife's old Dell Dimension Mobo (a Intel D845PT) int a new case to increase cooling capacity so we can run our online games ... problem is the Power switch connectors on the new case look snothing like the powerswitch connector that came with her Dell.

The old switch ran through two front panels before connecting to the Mobo (front panel connetor). The connections were all by way of ribbonlike connectors (terminology???). The new case is a Chieftec Matrix, and the Powerswitch has a kind of standard looking two pin connector along with a three pin reset connector and some other connectors marked for various LEDs.

I found a schematic online at Intel for generic D845PT Mobos, but the Dell board doesnt match the schematic very well. The best I can tell, all of the front side connectors shown in the Intel diagrams are consolidated into a single fron side connector on the Dell board.

Is there some way to connect my power switch on this new case directly to the Mobo? Pleas ehelp if you can, I fear I have gotten in over my head. :(

hmm..you may be able to find some type of adapter to convert the dell ribbon cable into a standard power switch cable.

Narrowed the problem a bit ...

This website shows the front i/o panel for the computer:

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim4400/replace.htm#1101572

The topmost connector on the left side is the one that goes up to the powerswitch in the current case ... I am guessing that I could connect the new power switch to those connector pins directly, if I knew which pins were what.

I cannot seem to find a schematic for this i/o panel though ... can some one point me to a link for this i/o panel?

Found a possible answer ...

For those who might be trying to do the same thing, here is a link to a 8x2 pin schematic for an older Dell Front Panel connector.