Advice On Building My First PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
milanbaros said:
I have decided to build my new pc myself for the first time. I am almost a total novice so I need a little help. I am using www.dabs.co.uk to buy the components but if you know much cheaper places to buy from in the UK do tell.

The computer will mostly be used for word processing and the internet but I am getting much more interested in photo editing. I can also see it being used for non console games such as flight sims and strategy (I have only left that genre of gaming behind because my current pc isnt up to scratch).

So far this is what I am thinking but I am very open to suggestions.

Processor: Pentium 4 540 1MB Socket775 800FSB

Mobo:

Abit Intel 915P Socket775 PCI-E ATX Audio/LAN/RAID

Memory: 2x 512MB 184Pin DIMM PC3200 DDR RAM Non-Parity CL3

Hard Drive: SpinPoint P80 160GB SATA150

Optical Drive: DVD+-R/RW 16x16x Black - Drive Only

I don't know which case or graphics card to get so suggestions are welcome.

As you can tell the budget for this isn't big at all but I want to get the most bang for my buck. Can you help me at all?

looks good....keep an eye on the temps is you go with that intel socket b/c they run HOT.....so I would invest in a really good heatsink and fans....(make sure your case has plenty of ventilation) or go with water cooling. As for the vid card...the fx5200 is pretty much good for 14 or 15k in aquamark....its a bare minimum card in my opinion....I like the 6600gt as well and they are at a good price currently.

Oh yeah, i forgot about the notorious LGA775 OH problems. I dont suggest those CPU's for anyone that does'ent have a cooling system in mind. So if your not going to get into cooling, just running a stock computer. I suggest a 478, witch i dont like. Or a AMD64 socket 939. I think you should take this very seriously, if your not going to invest in a cooling system, then drop the LGA775 yo.