the XBOX as a pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

bob_man_uk

Solid State Member
hi people,

kind of an odd question but i have recently had a weired feeling about taking an XBOX case take out all the hardware (xbox harddware that is) and replace it with a mini-itx mobo, and turning it into something hot, now im no n00b when it comes to PC's (i work as an IT techie for a living) but what i need is some kind of guide for rigging up power and cables for DVD drives, power switch etc, if anyone has anyideas please post here as i am very eager to get this project underway,

thanks

mattyg

same question has been posted at

http://forums.devhardware.com/showthread.php?p=359418#post359418

Why don't you just mod the xbox (soft mod or chip) and install linux. No need to replace all the hardware.

Yea the xbox is a pc with a graphics card made for tv's. I'ts fairly simple to get linux on a box, and then you can use it on your computer like a regular pc.

Why cant you just put XP on it? I modded my xbox by putting an 80-pin on the HD and DVD drive.:D make loading times faster and such but i lost my warranty.:(

Why cant you just put XP on it?
Because none has ported a version to run on it. Since it is closed source it makes it very hard to do. Linux being open source gives you that flexability.

you should look again. they even showed it on a MaxPC magazine where they had xp PRO running on an xbox. I dont know what else they did to it but i know it was running.

wel,

one i dont like linux, too complicated for my liking, sure its free but having to compile your own software it just does my head in (dont drag linux up again i know you can get pre-compiled binaries, just dont go there)