I'm Gonna Do It!

Status
Not open for further replies.

See Plus Plus

Baseband Member
After doing a tf search, and receiving some much needed advice, I have decided to purchase an internal hard drive and buy an external case for it as a secondary drive for my laptop (Dell Inspiron 5160). This is my first time doing something like this - anyways, I have a few questions:

1. Anyone know of a site that explains the process of changing from internal to external (would I even need it?)

2. What brand would YOU suggest or that you find most reliable?

3. What is the difference between the interface types?

4. Is it recommended to install software on the external drive (i.e. MS Office, etc.

Thanks in advance. :)

1. When you get the external case, it will have a full instruction guide, but usaully it is straight forward and very simple. Basically what you will do is plug in a cable connector that looks like a regular IDE connector into the HDD and the other end will be attached to the inside of the case, which is where you will plug in any out side connections, ie. USB, 1394 and power. If this isn't good enough for now, do a search on google and I am sure you will find more info that you want.

2. As far as HDDs, I like Maxtor and Western Digital, as far as the external cases, I have found that they all work about the same, so there is no one brand I could recommend.

3. Usaully the only difference in the interfaces (if your talking about USB vs 1394) is the speed. I would recommend USB 2.0.

4. I have installed all sorts of software on my external drive, mostly games, but they all run fine with no problems.

it's better to install all your software on your internal hd, and put all your files on the external.