Windows 2000

Status
Not open for further replies.

24/7 Gamer

In Runtime
I have 3 computers in my house all connected by a network, they all run on XP and are all high spec. The other day I got hold of an old computer with the specs below:

Pentium 3 1.0Ghz
128mb SDRam
30Gb HD
Intel Onboard Graphics
Windows ME

Well I wanted to use this computer and add it to the network but I thought if I install XP on it then it would run very very slow especially because XP requires 128mb minimum. So I tried it with just ME on it and it was still pretty slow even after a format.

After a couple of minutes thinking I thought about using Windows 2000 on it which I have never used before. I thought this because I did some searching about it and found some useful reviews that said it was the most stable OS, and it was quick and easy to use.

So I did a format again, installed it and set up all the drivers and software. After using it and playing around for a couple of hours I am very pleased with 2000's performance and useability and would recommend it to all the people with old machines. I say this because it is very stable, loads applications about 4x faster than ME and generally performs near enough as good as XP on my new computers.

I know this operating system was designed specifically for businesses but I have had no problems with it so far and I even played Quake III all night on it with a problem. Everthing is simple to set up and I got the wireless connection up and running in minutes.

Sorry if this post is useless but I thought I would just voice my opinion on it incase any of you ever thought about trying it.

Rob :)

Yup, I've been a 2k fan for about 2 years now. I like it better than XP (I have to use XP at work).

Anywho, good info about the program speedups. :D

yea, ME sucks in every way. 2K was designed for business, xp is no better just more bells and whistles

yup, i've been runnnin' 2k for a quite a while and love it.

i loaded it onto my buddies laptop