---Someone help me... really stuck.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wongb18c

In Runtime
I'm no expert when it comes to computer building but I've put together about more than 10 computers in my 19 years of lifetime. I never encountered a problem like this.

---Set up
CPU - AMD duron 1.6
Board [tried both] - 1. some Asus socket A board
2. Abit kv7 socket A board
Ram - ocz 256mb
psu - 300 watt psu from an old comp that ran on an intel chip.
cd drive - some hitachi cd drive
video card - an old radeon 32mb card from an older comp agp slot.

---Problem
First: I used an old Asus board I had lying around... put everything together, turn the thing on, it gets stuck at the check memory screen when you first boot up. Then I noticed, CD-rom and HD are not receiving any power.
Ok, from here, I tried a different psu...[took the psu from my comp] same problem, same screen, same result.

Second: Checked all the cables, molex connector, made sure everything was plugged in right etc... tried again... no go.

Third: took HD AND CD drive.... hooked it up to my comp.... NO PROBLEMS AT ALL. Windows recognize both drives... both drives are ready to use. [WTF? can anyone give me explination for this?]

Fourth: I don't know what else to do... bought a new Abit board for pretty cheap and figured I'd try that out [although I know the board has nothing to do with HD and CD drive not receiving power]. Took out everything snapped it on the new board. Boot up... this time I don't even get a picture, the Abit board doesn't have onboard video so I used the old AGP radeon card. I get no picture with this. The Asus board at least gave me a picture since it had onboard video.
Also notice the HD and CD drive both are STILL NOT receiving power.