Computer Tech Store Couldnt Solve This Problem.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmmm, I am no expert but I have heard bad things about Maxtor hard drives. May want to try another brand like Seagate or Western Digital.

Just my 2 cents.

Sh0rtD0gg said:
Before I begin to tell you this problem, to me it is basically unsolvable at this point.

Everything that I open is coruptted ALMOST everything, some programs will install correctly, but after a short few hours some of them will not even open, like when say I click on Dvd Shrink it just does nothing.
Ive Reinstalled the programs plenty of times NOTHING.
Half Life 2
Norton Antivirus 2005 in stalled from 2 different cd roms that have been cleaned numerous times will not install says corupted cab files or various other files corupted.
Discs are brand new and work on my mothers and buddys computer just fine.
Ive even put my buddys cdrom drive in my computer same thing happens still.
Windows XP on 3 different discs during copying of the files says a file or 2 wont install on so I have to skip the file.

Mind you If formatted my computer 7 times in 3 days, deleted partitions, I did the long format twice in a row. It dont matter still same stuff happens.
And you would think formatting would fix it all, but It doesnt.

I cant even get Norton on to check for a virus, but i used the one from their site, and one to check my memory for viruses nothing has came up.

It cant be a virus in my files or folders it would be whiped after a format or deleting my partion.

Right now I cant even open winamp basically much of nothing.

This is Windows XP Home Edition, a Legit copy.
Also Tried 2 other Legit Copies of it, same thing happens.

Any Clues, anybody who can solve this will be rewarded kindly.

it is one of 2 things

1) it is a bottleg copy of XP (more likely) and microsoft has put the lock on it when you went to windows update. reformatting will not fix it with XP tools