Building An Overclockin' rig 2600+ Mobile

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cpage01

Baseband Member
Hey guys, im building a computer. I plan to do some overclocking and have read up on it a bit.
Ive got a list of parts ill tell you guys, but be forewarned Im very new to computers, so some of these parts may not work together. It should also be noted that this will be my first attempt at overclocking.

Cooling system- ????? I need help here

RAM- Mushkin Dual Pack 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
I was thinking of these because of the price, but am unsure, as I have been told they are not good for overclocking.

Processor- Amd Athlon XP 2600+ mobile
Mother Board- ASUS "A7N8X-E Deluxe" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU

VideoCard- ASUS nVIDIA GeForce 6800 Video Card, 256MB DDR, 256-Bit, TV-Out/DVI, PCI-Express, Model "EN6800/TD/256"

Case- Thermaltake Highest Xaser III Blue Case with 420W Power Supply, Model "V1420DU"

HardDrive- Western digital 80 GB

Any help, along with advice on overclocking would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

the motherboard ASUS "A7N8X-E Deluxe" does not support Athlon 64, when you say "Athlon 64" i think you mean "Athlon XP"

^ I think wayne's been reading too many posts (he doesn't talk about an athlon 64)

Cpage, are you going to get a watercooling system? Do you want to spend that kind of money on it?

Why are you going the old Athlon Xp route, Go with a amd 3000+ 939 or a 3200+ You will have a much greater speeds with that graphics card. Also 90nm 939's Overclock very well, they can reach 2600Mhz on Air. Also that ram isn't the best for overclocking, try get some beater ram if you can afford it.

MasterJason is right 939 is the way to go now. As he said make sure if you go for 939 you get a 90nm CPU. Also get better ram with tight timings such as some bh5 or tccd ram chips which are great overclockers and will help you out allot in overclocking.

Everything else seems to be ok.