How do I upgrade my cpu? Can I go from 800 celeron to p4 1.8?

Status
Not open for further replies.
your celeron 800 is either a socket 370 or slot 1, chances are its the 370 The best upgrade for you is to a pentium 3 1.4ghz and. To upgrade to better components than a p3 1.4, youll probly need new mobo, ram, and cpu.

Thanks for all the tips everyone. I'm going to start searching for a chip in my mobo's range.

What would be the difference between a Celeron and a Pentium rated the same speed? I know the celeron will be cheaper, but what is the performance difference that I will notice, if any?

Also, any good resources for removing and installing a cpu chip? I feel comfortable inside a computer, but I've never done this before.

wow, someone else, prob. someone who OC's a bit will have to answer the chip question. as i know it, the Pentium is a bit more robust, it will take a bit more abuse... beyond that i'll let someone else take a stab at it...

as far as replacing the cpu chip, would you like me to write a tut for ya?

found these... http://64.233.161.104/search?q=cach...050.pdf+how+to+cpu+replacement+tutorial&hl=en

and this is a good one
http://www.computerpoweruser.com/ed...&Atype=Tutorial&Itype=&PCatID=1012&CatID=1160

if you need more detail... or step by step... let me know, i write those kinds of things for a living. it would be nothing to whip one out for ya

A Celeron is nothing more than an economy grade version of a Pentium chip. The highest clock speed for a Celeron is usually 40%-60% lower than the fastest Pentium clock speed. Celerons have a smaller amount of Cache, and usually less programming. Overall... you pay for what you get on both sides, but the Pentium class chip really blows the Celeron away. Celerons are fine for basic use... checking your email, buying things online, surfing the web...