Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
no primary and slave are not a Raid configuration. rest easy... like i said, run a scan disk every now and then if you're worried and you'll be ok... just try not to crash it ;)

edit. in truth it does happen, but it's not that big a deal, and nothing to worry about. i would be more worried about spyware, addware, and viruses ;)

dont quote me on this but cant bad sectors develop if your hd's are running too hot?...i know im not a pro or anything but im just throwing some things out there

oh iceydeath well yes!! as some of earlier post says... And Roshi here you again made me worried. ( in truth it does happen ) grrr.. :S so i better not then boot two hardisk and this is why i want to do... just wanna transfer all mah datas from bad sector hdd to the new one.

run a scandisk...
assuming this is a windows XP machine you would open my computer, and right click the drive you would like to fix.
when you right click select properties and go to the tools tab
at the top there is something called Error-checking
click the button that says check now
select both options to automatically fix and scan for and automatically try to fix bad sectors...

in older versions it will be in the start menue same place you would find disk defrag. called scandisk.

you can also do this from DOS

once you have done that, it should correct the problem. if not, go ahead and run a virus scan of that disk to be sure the files are not infected... www.symantec.com should have a free online scan available if you don't own virus protection software.

at that point there is not much else you can do but try to copy the files over... it may work it may not. if not then it will tell you that, but won't ruin the new hard drive if you've done what i said above...
worst case, you'll have to reformat the drive.

good luck