First Time PC builder

Status
Not open for further replies.

kibitzer

Solid State Member
This is the first PC that i am building. I am pretty new to the hardware side of computers so i need some help determining if what i have is good/compatible. This is what i currently plan on getting.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-K8NS PRO NForce3 250 Socket 754
HardDrive: Hitachi 7200 RPM
Video Card: Sapphire ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
Memory: Corsair XMS 512MB x2
CD/DVD Drive: Samsung
DVD Burner: NU Technology
Case: Enermax ATX mid tower
Power Supply: Sparkle Power 350W

Is there anything else i need? im really a novice with this so try to dumb it down a bit. Also, am i going overboard on anything, i dont need a supercomputer, i just want something that is good for media and can play your average game.

just want to make sure, but you are saying if i buy all of those parts, i will have everything i need to build a computer? i dont need any extra wires or stuff like that? Also, the information on the case says there are 3 fans i think, do i need those other 2?

im not sure if it does or not. So you could probably buy the case and see if it comes with more than one. If it only comes with one, you probably want to buy 1 or 2 more so all that hot air doesnt get trapped inside your computer (you want good airflow). You can really pick up 80mm fans at any computer store so you can prety much hold off.
i almost missed it, but you need to have a fan for your CPU! That is one of the most important parts or you can say goodbye to that $150 3200+.
this is one of the better ones:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=35-106-038&depa=1
you can adjust the fan speed to fit your needs (because on full blast it sounds like a jet)
But that one is out of stock on Newegg, so you can find another site with that or go with this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=35-124-004&depa=1