Building new PC Need advice.

FPS guy

Solid State Member
Well! Its been a while since we've visited this forum! 6 years to be exact! The rig my husband built in 2011, with the help of those who were here back then, is now ready to be replaced. 7+ years. Not bad at all. Now its my turn. Im looking for advice on this new build as he is leaving it all up to me. Im not a total noob at this but some guidance would be appreciated. I want to build a mid range/high end gaming PC. $1500.00 or less. We want to be able to play the newest games and have potential for VR. We also would like it to be reasonably easy to add on if we choose to do flight/driving simulators. We want to stay away from liquid cooling. Ive included an attachment from Amazon that shows what ive picked out so far. The prices can be ignored. I will shop around for the best deal. Let me know what you think.....

Attachments

• The Build.jpg
    The Build.jpg
    90.1 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:
Thank you for the response. I know of the new AMD chip And I also know that will likely push me well over my 1500.00 budget. I have shoes to buy! :p ;) How about that SSD and the RAM.. Are they good solid buys? Is the power supply overkill?

Last edited:
Think outside the box, the 3600 or 3600x would be the same or cheaper than the 2700x while performing better. That, and once they're released the Zen+ models will get price cuts so you can go either way.

RAM and PSU are good, can't comment too much on the SSD.

Read the reviews for those Adata drives and decide for yourself to what you want...
Not only do we see performance improvements under load, but we also see an enormous shift in efficiency. We measured 189MB/s per watt, which is almost 50% faster than any other SSD in its class. That's impressive for a TLC SSD with less overprovisioning than competing models.