Starting a new career!

hack17up

Beta member
Hello! I am an American line cook and have dabbled in computers for quite some time. I actually completed a two year IT-tech program during high school and even a good bit of a Computer Information Systems degree. Long story short, life got complicated for quite some time and I never did more than freelance/probono work for friends/family.

This work could range anywhere from fixing no-boot scenarios, tweaking system settings for speed & performance, upgrading hardware, salvaging hard drives from failing systems, bypassing passwords on old systems (maybe the user forgot the password or it was passed onto them from a relative), reformatting systems, recovering system images, creating rescue media, backing up data, migrating operating systems, removing viruses/malware, setting up complicated software, etc. I have some experience doing a bit of everything at introductory levels; networking, security, web dev/des, 3d/graphics design, video/audio editing, data entry, programming, etc.

I recently designed & built a new rig for gaming/streaming/work to kind of help restore my confidence as a fledgling tech. I have built a few computers before, but this build is my best one yet. I am currently attempting to obtain my CompTIA A+ certification and take my first step into entering the IT field! I am hoping to obtain an entry level job such as Computer Help Desk in a local company. I understand that such a job would grant an enlightening perspective of the IT business and provide not only entry level IT experience but also information on IT business infrastructure and the customer service side of things. This will be valuable when marketing myself in the future or for if I ever want to start providing my work as an individual.