Need Help With Large Data File Transfers

cessna206

Beta member
I'm not a techie so let me get that out of the way first. I work for a start-up company that is trying to find the best way for farmers with slow internet speeds, to access large data files (500 mb) without having to wait for hours to get their data. We are currently sending them a link to OneDrive to access their imagery data.

There may not be an easy solution to this issue out there, but if there is I would sure appreciate some feedback on how this might be achieved.

The files are imagery files (.kmz or .tiff). Can they be compressed? Is there a cloud based server that can speed things up somehow? Any other suggestions??

Thanks!

You need faster isp if there is one in range.

Or make wisp or mesh network, but that can be a large cost up front.

I suffered that way for a long time, eventually moved and now getting 30mpbs for $30/month and no speed throttle or cap.

On the farm it was $80 for "unlimited" lte that slowed to 3g speed for the whole month after the 10gb or whatever pittance they have at usable speed. That or sat or dial up. And some places are dark because the military jams all cell and landlines for security and they are too close to that, but to far from civilization for the cable or fiber companies to roll down the street for less than six figures.

Vice did a great expose about it: The Digital Divide

And it was about how most city dwellers or suburbanites are unaware of the lack of access in the rural community, how hard it is to raise children, pay bills, do business at competitive speed, etc and how the way the cell infrastructure was built caters to cities and there are dead zones in between, that have monopoly or nothing.

We can do better. My farm was less that quarter mile from 100mbps cable, but city attorney made franchise agreement with cable and fiber saying they are only obligated to provide resources to 70% of the city.