Brand new to the site!

TechyB

Beta member
Hello everyone! Names Dakota and am new to Techist. Little about myself, I'm 21 years old, working as an IT assistant for a company called Ruby's. Living in Utah, I enjoy anything to do outdoors and anything to do computers (and video games). I've been building computers since I was 14 and fell in love with technology far before that when I was 8 year old. Dad got me a PS2 for Christmas and that little taste of technology kick-started my choice to pursue a career in IT. Im still fairly new to networking, and starting to understand Fiber Optics a bit more, but joined this forum to hopefully expand my overall knowledge on technology! Happy to be here and to hear what people have to share! What are some of your backgrounds and interests?

Welcome to the forums!

My first intro to tech was my dads' Windows 95 Compaq laptop -- We played Tiberian Sun on that way back in the day. That's what got me into IT and tech.

Now I'm a Sr. Linux systems administrator for a large US gov't defense contractor and a Linux security subject matter expert at the company.

My free time is spent an awful lot on programming (my focus this year is Python. Years past have seen web programming, php, node, and others) and on my home lab.

Wow, it's been a long time since i've played some Tiberian Sun. I actually am really good friends still with one of the lead programmers that worked for Wormwood Studios. Loved there games and was so sad to see them shut there doors a few years back!

I'm also an infant to programming, I've always wanted to learn to create my own video games, as my friend at Wormwood was a huge inspiriation, any help as to where to start?