MSI K8N NEO2 PLATINUM, memory question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well the hardware maniplaution between the two is identicle, and everything is almost exactly the same, but you might get one more channel of audio off the MSI (not sure, but who needs 7.1???).

Anyways, I do not HAVE the board, but I've heard its fine runnign dual channel @ 400+.

This chart suggestes this fact as well, but I'm not an expert:

3rdeye1.jpg

They say use the green slots first because the green slot is channel A so it's first in the lineup. However this mainly applies to running a single channel Setup, OR if you aren't running dual channel, OR if you have lesser than PC3200 RAM I suppose. Other than that you'll want to put one stick in the green and one in the purple to obtain Dual Channel Mode.

As long as you use two chips that are the same and put them both in a green slot it will work in dual channel mode.
This is incorrect. You want one stick in the green slot and one in the purple for your RAM to run in Dual Channel mode on that motherboard.

Putting both sticks in the green slot will get you SINGLE CHANNEL, which you'd rather have dual channel anywhere.

All it's saying is for better stability and assurance you want the first stick to go in green slot because that's the first in the lineup. If you want single channel throw the other stick in the green at the expense of having it run at 333 if it's double sided. Otherwise put it in the purple.

EDIT:
How about the Abit 3rd Eye? Always thought of it better than that MSI.