HI everyone! Noob here looking for some help

fpritt24

Solid State Member
Hello everybody
I am a moderate computer techy (techie?) and I am looking for some reasoning in why my computer isn't performing the way I expect it to.

I own an Acer Aspire 5349 series laptop that came with:
Intel B815 processor
4GB DDR3 Memory
320 GB HDD
Intel HD Graphics card

Since then I have added:
Intel i5 2540M processor
8GB DDR3 Memory
1 TB HDD
Same graphics card

I experienced a slightly smoother running PC after the initial upgrade but it still doesn't seem to perform as I expected it too with these upgrades. I don't know if I have a bottleneck somewhere or how to check for it if someone can help or point me in a direction to start looking for help.

Thanks!

I have a older laptop but the biggest improvement I did was add a duel drive HD, has a 128gig SSD for Windows and 1TB storage HD all in one HD that fit in. The SSD is a huge improvement and actually runs better than a friend's laptop with better specs, though I do no gaming on it but HD's seem to be the biggest bottleneck especially if there a 5400 rpm drive.

What exactly are you having performance issues with?
It doesn't run smoothly when browsing the internet, kinda jumps around a little bit and it runs hot a lot even doing simple tasks on the computer. It runs extremely hot and my fps drops down to between 5-10 when playing MMO's. I know it's not a gaming setup or anything but I just expect for it to perform better than it does when playing.

I have a older laptop but the biggest improvement I did was add a duel drive HD, has a 128gig SSD for Windows and 1TB storage HD all in one HD that fit in. The SSD is a huge improvement and actually runs better than a friend's laptop with better specs, though I do no gaming on it but HD's seem to be the biggest bottleneck especially if there a 5400 rpm drive.