R9 380 or R9 390 - Crossfire or not

Shigu

Solid State Member
Greetings everyone, trying to upgrade my GPU as I'm sad I have to run Rust Experimental on Simple/Good to avoid lag spikes.

I currently have the below system (will put it right at the end), my question is - do I get a R9 390 or a R9 380 OR Crossfire one with my R9 270. I'm an absolute tech noob so have no clue with which factors to consider. I was initially looking at the 390, but read some bad reviews tonight on Ebuyer so a little unsure now. Would happily take recommendations also, kind of an AMD fan boy though so not sure how comfortable I am with NVIDIA as I've been installing AMD software and drivers for a good couple of years now. Thanks in advance, any help would be great!

Also below are the 2 cards I was specifically looking at:

R9 380 - MSI Radeon R9 380 GAMING 4GB GDDR5 Dual-Link DVI-D HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer

R9 390 - MSI Radeon R9 390 Gaming 8GB GDDR5 Dual-Link DVI-D HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer

My current system:

MB: MSI 970 Gaming
CPU: AMD FX-8320 8 Core 3.50Ghz
RAM: 2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaw(DDR3 1333) + 2x4GB Generic (DDR3 1600)
GPU: MSI R9 270 Gaming 2GB
PSU: 750W Novatech 80Bronze
HD: 1 x 120gb OS SDD + 2TB HDD

Eh, don't pay attention to reviews on sites like that. It's one thing I mentioned in my article as you'll have more people go online to bitch about their experience than those who are sitting there enjoying their card.

If you're playing at 1080p the 970 is still a faster card than the 390 at the same price, and for your personal assurance the eVGA gets a 10/10 on eBuyer (albeit one reviewer :p )

EVGA GTX 970 SSC GAMING 4GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI 3x DisplayPort PCI-E Graphics Card - Ebuyer