Hello Everyone

Streetbob805

Beta member
Hello to all techist users! My name is Justin and I am currently an aspiring Computer Science Student. I stumbled across this site today and I am glad I will be able to network myself with people who are clearly much more experienced than I am. Before I begin school in February 2016, I plan to utilize numerous websites online to teach myself how to code.

I did have a question if someone could help me out: as far as the CompTIA and Cisco certifications such as Net+, CCNA, Sec+, etc, are those certifications worth obtaining and maintaining while studying computer science or will my future knowledge in programming and the degree be a better option.

Secondly, I have a $3000 dollar budget for a new laptop. I have done some research and I have found the Touchpad T440/450/450S are all great versatile machines. Others tell me a MacBook Air or MacBook Pro being able to utilize unix and running a VMware and running the Microsoft OS when needed. If you all could give me your opinions on which route you would decide for your school/work computer.

Thank you!

Welcome! Good to see another person pursuing a CS degree. I finished my BS in CS in 2013.

As for the certs...depends on what you plan on doing after you get the degree. You won't have much use for those certs in a software development field - those will mainly be geared towards network administration and such.

As for the laptop... get a nice i7 laptop with plenty of RAM so that your development environments are smooth and compiling is fast. A Mac will be more expensive for the hardware IMO and not really necessary. I'd recommend just a regular PC, with 2 HDD bays so that you can add additional storage - you can also either dual boot Windows/Linux, or run one in a VM.