AMD Processor vs Intel Processor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: AMD Processor vs. Pentium Processor

Snake-Eyes said:
Hi I just joined and I have a few questions. Are AMD processors any better than a Pentium? Is the switch from Pentium to AMD smooth? I was looking at getting a new computer and I was introduced to an AMD processor so I was a little intrugued. Please nothing too in-depth, I'm just starting out in the PC world. At the moment, i'm looking at a 3200+ AMD processor (got a quote and the guy didn't write down the full name of hardly any thing).

the full computer setup is this (the quote was written down as this):

NVidia 6800 GT 256MB video card
2048MB PC3200 DDR RAM
S939 3200+
S939 K8NS Ultra MB
240GB RAIDED SATA
16x Dual Layer DVD+RW
Windows XP
ATX case
500W power supply
17" LCD monitor

Is this good to run the newest games like Doom 3, Half-life 2, etc? Also, do you think i should get a better processor?

nice comp man!!!!;)

indeed, that is one nice computer... wish i had enough bling to get something like that. guess i gotta stick with what i have! =]

P.P. Mguire said:
amd i best for gaming and thats hands down. look at any gaming forum(besides this one) and you will see that they all run amd(well most of them).

i hardly call that hard facts AMD is better. most gamers run AMD because they can't afford Intel rig's and want the best performing rig they can have that fits there budgets.