Noob with monster setup but no idea how to tweak it: ADVICE/HELP ENCOURAGED

BrockB

Solid State Member
I'm a noob and know absolutely nothing about tweaking or overclocking, and I would like to push the most out of my system with the proper advice. Preferably my goal is to run the system safely at 5ghz(+) if its possible with the components I have

This is my current setup:
MOBO: ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z
CPU: AMD FX-9370 Vishera 8-Core 4.7GHz
PSU EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 80 PLUS Gold
RAM: G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB (4 x 4GB)
MEM: SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD
MEM 2: WD Red 4TB Hard Drive
GPU: XFX Radeon R9 295x2 8GB
Monitors: Triple 3x 34" LG UM-97 34-inch curved wide screen IPS

My BIOS is set at its factory default settings. Right now everything seems to run fine and it shows in PC properties im running at 4.42 ghz (but thats even lower than i should be, right?) I know I can push much more out of this system but I dont know how to. Eyefinity is set up and running nice with the 3 ultra widescreens at a massive 10320x1440 resolution. But i did notice some freezes on max game settings with COD advanced warfare. Im also not sure if the PSU i have would be powerful enough to overclock? I dont know anything about this so any AMD gaming experts out there could sure be a big help to me. I would appreciate it!

Last edited:
The game is probably freezing either due to the resolution itself or your CPU or GPU overheating. Also have to ask what RAM speed your kit is because AMD doesn't take well to high RAM speed like Intel does. If it's set too high that would cause freezing and crashing too.

9370 is 4.4GHz so that's right. Don't worry about overclocking anything until you have it running smoothly.

it says my RAM speed is currently 1600mhz.
I want to eventually run this at 5ghz if its safely possible