Server building help

RyJaMu

Solid State Member
Hi my boss was getting rid of a load of old computers and he said i could have them if i wanted and i would very much like to make my self a server out of one was just wondering how to do it
i have a few dell optiplex 320s a hp pro and a couple other random ones
i have basic knowledge of building computers
can i use old hardrives or do i have to use sata as they are faster
its going to be used for storing important stuff on it that me and my house mate need, also running a minecraft server of it so me and my friends can connect without one of us having to be logged in
in advance, thanks for your help :)

The Opitplex is rather old and is SFF if Google serves me right. Not much of a server you can make out of that.

If you're storing important stuff, best to use new drives.

I had a 3.0GHz P4 with HT in it running quite a few serverside applications, including Minecraft. MC was fine as long as there about 5 people on it, and no more lol.

All the other server-related functionality ran fine on it: webserver, fileserver, database, code repository, FTP, and even Plex was alright until I played a 1080p movie on it - had to buffer every half hour or so for about 30 seconds.

Mostly depends what you all want to do with it - and how many people are planning on connecting to your MC server at one time.

Yeah the Plex transcoding kills it. My AMD A10-5800K or whatever it is sometimes hits ~65% CPU usage when transcoding a 1080p video.

As for the MC server.. I ran one on a Core 2 Duo.. forgot the model number. 8400 I think? It was a stock 3 Ghz C2D. Ran it on there for a while... the performance was alright for two to three players who stayed close :tongue: