Overheating Graphics Card

joeyh31

Beta member
Hey everyone, let me preface this by saying I know very little about computers and would appreciate not so much high-end tech talk, haha. In other words, if you could dumb some things down for a newbie, that would be great.

My computer started to randomly shut off when I started playing games a few months ago and I'm finally getting around to solving this issue.

I recently opened my event viewer after one of these episodes and it said my computer shut down due to graphics card overheating.

I have an ATI Radeon HD 4800 series and Windows 7. I ran a temp check and my graphics card was extremely hot (like 96 degrees Celsius hot). I have cleaned the dust out and there is no dust clogging the fan.

So my questions are what kind of fan can I install to cool this graphics card? And do you guys know of a simple how-to video or something to show me the correct way to do it?

Attached is a screenshot of the program I used to see how hot my computer was. Thank you for all of your help in advance.

Attachments

• heatissue.jpg
    heatissue.jpg
    101.6 KB · Views: 9
When was the last time you re pasted the card? If you've never took it apart and put fresh thermal paste on the GPU then it's probably all dried out causing an overheat.

Well first if you decide to get new fan'(s) then you would need to make sure you get one that fits with the chassis (body of the compputer, or the box as some peoples call it)

and also the smaller the fan is the more sounds it make, and the bigger the fan is, the less sounds it makes.

as i did, i have option to install a top fan, a rear fan and front fan + fans inside the body of the computer and i also use a cpu fan that actually is large enough to cool down the entire pc by itself (not neccecary for everyone and its bit expencive.)