File and Backup Server

bpm55

In Runtime
I am wanting to build a server to learn more sys admin stuff. I have a copy of Windows Server 2012.

I am trying to convince a friend of mine to sell me his build and update his system.

He has an AMD Athlon Black 955 and 8gb Ram. The link below is the build.
Friends System

If he won't sell it to me I am going to build one. I have always built gaming systems and not servers. So, what should I be looking for and what differences are there?

I am thinking Intel and something with a lot of sata and RAID support. No gpu and tons of storage.

I am planning on making a email server and file server. Also a backup system for my other computers. I have some knowledge of sys admin I have worked in IT for a few years and just want to get my own network more advanced. I am thinking a lot of RAM for Virtual Machines also.

Any suggestions and/or help are welcome! I will answer all questions to the best of my knowledge.

The budget is between $600-$1000.

from what I know, gaming systems rely heavily on cpu and gpu processing. this is to get the best frame rate possible.

with a file and backup server, you should be more concerned about storage capacity and speed. corporate enterprises usually buy sas hard drives at 10k rpm or above. this is for the file server. budget conscience companies would buy slower hard drives for their backups. they are cheaper and usually good enough to meet your backup windows.

you'll want a raid controller for this too. raid five is most common. you can lose one drive and the system can still run. I hear raid 0+1 is the best but its also more expensive.

everything else really depends on how many users you plan to put on the system. four critical points to the system will be memory, cpu, storage, and network

here's a server for 600. you'll need to buy a raid controller and hard drives.

https://www.cdw.com/shop/products/H...P&cm_sp=Product-_-Session&ProgramIdentifier=3