need help upgrading computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

holyfrickster

Solid State Member
Hey guys i am a noob to this whole computer hardware upgrading stuff but here are the specs on my comp

VPR Matrix 2020 (best buy brand)
Intel Pentium 4 Processor
512mb of Ram
100gb hdd
Lite on dvd rom
lite on cd-writer 32x

ok heres the deal i download a bunch of shit, and i know that i need a larger hdd, but......... what can i do to my computer to upgrade it to make it run faster and perform better without having to buy another computer. sorry for asking noobish questions, thanks in advance

oh and i also need a high speed usb card, and a dvd burner, can you guys please point me in the right direction of the products that i would need to buy, and what is the best deal for these things, thank you

It depends on what you're using the computer for, usually getting more RAM makes your computer faster. If its for playing games, getting a better graphics card will help. Buying a new processor compatible with your motherboard would also speed things up.

There is no high speed USB card, all USB controllers are the same speed. USB 2, is very high speed, if that's what you're talking about. Anyways, any type of USB controller card will work, they're reletively simple products and buying them from any company won't really show any difference in speed, performance, or reliability.

Not sure about the DVD burners, but I always buy my computer stuff from www.newegg.com they have really good prices and selection.