Cheap cooling solution for awkward case.

Geoman37

Baseband Member
Hey Tech Forums, thanks for helping me build my first pc!

Basically I have a Cooler Master k350 because it was only £15 providing I got it with a Cooler Master PSU, which meant that I had enough money to get a 7870 as opposed to a 7850 (the 7870 was on a deal the day I bought it as well so I couldn't really say no- it was about £50 off). Being the eternal cheapskate that I am, I decided to just stick with the stock AMD CPU cooler for a few months until I felt the need to overclock. Big mistake, I know. Problem is that due to this when I bought my K350 I wasn't really thinking of aftermarket CPU coolers when I bought it and now I am stuck with a case that is one cm too narrow to fit the type of coolers that I now want to get, such as the Hyper 212. I only have 148.5 cm of clearance for a CPU cooler and am finding it hard to find a cooler that is small enough to fit in my case, quiet, in my budget (£25, at a push £35 but I need to spare £5 out of that budget for some MX-5 thermal paste), and keep my FX-6300 at around 55 degrees whilst on a small to moderate overclock- 3.8 or maybe even 4.0 ghz. I realise this is quite an ask from my budget but do any of you have any suggestions or at least some opinions on the following:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cooler-Mast...TF8&qid=1388756692&sr=1-9&keywords=cpu+cooler

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Scythe-Shur...qid=1397731253&sr=1-1&keywords=Big+Shuriken+2

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1D873RMPMIV2C

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cooler-Mast...=1397733780&sr=1-1&keywords=cooler+master+tx3

Bear in mind I have the asus m5a97 r2.0, fx-6300, corsair vengeance and 148.5mm max height when looking at coolers for which clearance may be an issue.

I know I have rambled a bit but thanks in advance and any response is appreciated.

NB. I also plan on getting a cheap arctic f12 120mm case fan as an exhaust.

Last edited: