Hello, Am I too old?

Damurack

Beta member
Hello,
I am 30 years old and I do have some experience as an uncertified tech for a couple of companies. I also have worked in Geek Squad. I went to college for under a year in a computer engineering major, but didn't gain much from what I went through there. That was 5 years ago. I currently have a physical job, but my current physical health will possibly prevent from doing overly heavy duty labor, which is what I mostly have experience with. I am interested in the IT field. I have a family to support and no longer qualify for student loans, which is why I only have a year of college behind me. I have an interest in web development and hardware, but I know I can not go back to school. All of my training will have to be self taught. I am thinking about getting my a+ and going from there but don't know which way I will turn to from there. I am hoping that I can find some answers to my questions here.

Last edited:
Definitely not too old. I had only played around with tech until I was in my thirties. I didn't move into a tech-type job until I was 42. I have an Associates in IT (earned in my thirties), but no certs as of yet. All of what I know has been self-taught as my AA ironically did not involve much tech at all (pseudocode and some Java).

Christ, I'm almost 30 and I'm not certified in anything.

I'm real good at other stuff though!

I am thinking about getting my a+ and going from there but don't know which way I will turn to from there.

I am currently doing A+ as my work requires me to have it. Silly thing is that I technically got this under a different course name.
And from there I am going to be doing my Microsoft Windows 7 and possibly Windows 8 certs.
My job requires that I have these.