Setting up my first pc...

Status
Not open for further replies.

pcgodintraining

In Runtime
Hello all. I am eager to learn as much as possible about computers, given that I finally have some funds avalible to buy components. As I am completely new to the world of building one's own PC, I don't know where to start.

I have between $500-600 Canadian dollars to spend on the case components (Moniter, mouse, keyboard speakers etc are taken care of). I want to eventually have a mega powerfull gaming system that will easily handle games like "hl2" "Doom 3" and "World of warcraft", but for now I am content with playing games "Diablo 2", "Counterstrike" and "Myst 3", so for now, it just needs to run games like that. I know I don't need much power to run those games, but I do need a motherboard that is affordable, reliable and upgradable with lots of room for memory (As I have been told) so that I can upgrade it to be able to play those ubber powerfull games.

What are the steps to building a system? Where should I go to get current, up-to-date info? Any books I should buy? I am all alone in the venture so I don't know what to do. Any and all help and advice will be much appreciated.

thanks,

-Computer illiterate, wannabe reclusive computer guru

Study alot before you jump into it . Its not hard to do and knowing how to go about it before hand is a good idea .
Putting the sytem together no the ins and outs of the Motherboard(Manual) /Setting up your bios/ Installing Operating Systems and Drivers are areas of study.I started out with old computers i found that people throw out along the road.Taking them apart and tinkering with the Hardware understanding how its put together etc...
Theres alot of information available likePC Mechanic
is a good place to start .Copy the files and make your own little study book . For reference as you go .Good luck and enjoy the experience :)