Building a Computer

wyrda78

Beta member
I'm currently in the processes of choosing parts for a desktop PC, though I'm not an expert. Here is the list of things I've chosen, I'm just looking for assessment and feedback of these parts, and suggestions for better ones.

CPU: Intel Core i5 4670K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14
Mobo: ASRock Z87M Extreme4
RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Ares/Sniper DDR3-2133
SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 3TB
GPU: XFX Radeon R9 290X 4GB
Case: CoolerMaster CM690 III with Window
PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 520W
ODD: LG Bluray Drive

Estimated Price: ~$2000 AUD

Ditch the D14 for a Corsair H100i. Why put so much weight on your board when you don't need to?

Drop the RAM speed to 1600 to save some cash. Anything above that is pointless.

Change the 290x to a 780 or 780ti. I'm pretty sure Aus has had the 100-200 dollar markup from those cards like we did because of the stupid mining.

You will need a better PSU to power this rig. Start with a Seasonic M1211 620 or Corsair TX650.

OK thanks a lot for your feedback.

At first I was going to get the 1600 RAM, but the better one I've listed is only $16 more expensive. Is it really pointless to get the faster one?

And as for the GPU... I've really been debating in my mind which one to get for days. The 290x and 780 is the same price, the ti is a bit out of my price range. From all the research I've done, it seems that the 290X is faster normally, but runs louder, hotter, while the 780 overclocks better. Though I wasn't planning on overclocking the GPU that much, I'd prefer not to stress out my parts too much. Although, one thing that has been mentioned to me befoe is that the newer games might be better optimised for AMD cards because it's what the new consoles are using. I'm not sure how true this is though.
Oh and I'm planning on running a normal resolution monitor.

Would it be worth getting something like a liquid cooler for the GPU?