Not able to access bios today

Thanks for the input, ideas and experience, Mike.

So, one can buy a BIOS chip to update a board? Hmmm..........I have tried to update/flash the BIOS. As I recall when I was investigating, my version is listed as the original and there have been many revisions since. There is the note on the ASUS site that if your board is older than such and such a date the one needs to first install a converter file. I tried this by downloading the converter from the site but nothing took. Though my profile header says I am a newbie I have learned a lot since build this monster (because sometimes it has turned on me LOL). However I am new enough to be leery to flash the BIOS and was while doing so. Should I try again? Also have tried the utility to update but it just hangs there. However, in reading at the site again it mentions finding and installing the converter in the utilities of the BIOS............hmmmmmmm.............gonna look at that. Of course I have notice the utilities but have not thoroughly investigated them.

Right now money is an issue and I also want to trouble shoot to see if I get this mobo in shape to learn and save money for now. Later I may scrap this one and get a new type altogether

Thanks again,

Lane

BTW......where does one find the page to change one's level of expertise on this site? I perused and perused this morning but could not find a place to un-do the "newbie" designation in my profile to something a bit more middle of the spectrum.

I understand the feeling, yes if your asus motherboard allows the removal of the bios chip.
I personally recommend you call asus ask them for a bios chip, they will charge you for it "10.00 20.00 bucks"
If your under warrenty still, they may throw you a free one, you pay the shipping cost.
Becarefull of where you get your bios chip from if its 3rd party based not by asus. :/