Nub's first build

redbull31

Solid State Member
So I'm wanting to build for the first time. I'm looking for a simple everyday use computer. Kind of like one you'd go pick up at wally world (walmart). I'm building for the experience of building, and because I REAALLY don't want windows 8.... It's not going to be some super high end gaming machine, just for daily internet use, college student uses, and a little virtual machine work. I don't tend to get heavy in virtual machines yet, maybe mess around a bit with linux ubuntu or fedora, but later down the road I would like to when I start to learn more (I'm a computer networking student). So I do want some room for upgrades. I don't have any real budget, but the cheaper the better (duh). So here's what I've come up with. I kind of threw this together so bear with me...I'm actually a little tipsy too. Christmas day people gotta bust out some good wine! Btw Merry Christmas to all

ASUS P8H77-V LE LGA 1155 Intel H77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
Intel Core i3-3240 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz LGA 1155 55W Dual-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 2500 BX80637i33240 - Newegg.com
CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Low Profile Desktop Memory Model CML8GX3M2A1600C9 - Newegg.com
Western Digital WD Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive - Newegg.com
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D Green 380W Continuous power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
ASUS Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk Black - Newegg.com