Recommendations and help before I commit.

finnus

Beta member
I'm not the best with computers. I can tell the difference between a psu and a graphics card but that's about it.

Recently, my computer (after being turned on, fans spinning and all) immediately shuts down, and then continuously attempts to turn on... to infinity and beyond :annoyed: . Initially I thought it was my psu packing up. So i bought a cheap one to test run this. But the same problem occurred. I was told that it may be my motherboard, but I have no knowledge of these.

I've been thinking of upgrading my computer for a while now (the main use of it being a gaming pc), and was also told it may be an idea to upgrade my motherboard, cpu and ram. My cpu is in dire need of an upgrade and I was hoping to get an i-7 of some sort.

Specifications:

browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1986393
HP-Pavilion NQ880AA-ABU
(Note - I bought this back in 2009)
Additional information: I have upgraded the PSU (now Arctic 600) and the graphics card (now Nvidea GTS 450)

Questions

What is wrong with my computer?
What suggestions would those recommend for upgrading my motherboard, cpu and ram (bear in mind I'll mainly be using it for gaming)
Would an i7 be worth it?
Would an i7/new motherboard work with my graphics card? (This is probably an obvious question but I have no knowledge of processors or motherboards)
Do I really need more RAM than 4GB?
Is this doable for a virgin-tech such as myself?

Thank you for your time and patience,
Fin.

Last edited:
Got something better to go by? I'm not really getting anything off the 'model' number you've provided.

ANyways, I can answer a few basic questions though now that I have time.

Buying a cheap PSU isn't exactly the best way to go about testing, because the cheap one can have problems or be bad out of the box. Is everything cleaned and dust free? Have you reapplied thermal paste to the CPU heatsink? Have you tried taking the GTS 450 out and just try the onboard video?