Video Card vs Video Card

morph1

Solid State Member
Hi all,

I just built my new system , now I have been thinking about a decent GPU,
I have had in the past GeForce cards and Radeon Cards, both cards were great and served me well., I have been looking at the new PCIE 3 cards and I came to a conclusion that GeForce cards are way overpriced.., why is that ?,
I can get almost same spec GPU by Radeon as by GeForce but for the half the cost, I am looking at Asus Radeon 7970 with 3 GB DDR 5 Memory with rates of 264 GB/S for $330 where I can get a card that slightly faster by GeForce for over $600.., where is the sense of it ?? what does make GeForce cards so pricy ?, I have been using my HD4970 Radeon 1GB DDR5 for about 4 years now, never had a problem with that card and it performed well , it is time to replace that card as my new system utilizes PCIE 3 and I won't mind well actually I need more video memory, so here we go I am making my plans which route to take , go with Geforce and spend double the money or go with Radeon have same results and save 300 bucks ...., I do 3d and video rendering , lots of graphic design, so video processing and stability is very important to me , I want to use my comp to generate money out of my work and have a bit of entertainment by playing some cool games, last thing I wanna do is sit there a brag as how expensive my GPU is and hardly draw any use out of it....

any input would be appreciated.

thanks.

Last edited:
A 600 dollar Geforce would essentially make me think you mean the GTX 780? If so, the 780 completely dominates the 7970 in every way.

The 7970GHz competes with the GTX 770 which are priced similarly and trade blows depending on who paid off what developer to have their name in the creds.
On the flip side, you're looking at the cards right at the wrong time actually. AMD is releasing new cards, and the price wars have begun, and the best time to look at cards is when the dust settles.