High end gaming computer and random framerate issues.

Octopicake

Solid State Member
Last year I built my very first PC and it was just magnificent until recently. I'm not sure what exactly is causing this issue, but as of late every game I seem to try playing the framerates go berserk. Normally they used to stay at 80 or so, but now they've been incredibly faulty. I discovered this when I started playing Smite, but I repaired that program in hopes that maybe it was that causing the issue but no such luck. I also updated my AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series but to no avail the strange frequent drops keep happening. I dusted out my computer the best I could, ran a harddrive stress test on my D drive and it came out fine. I can't seem to scan my C drive (Samsung SSD 840 Series) even though I can look through the drive's files just fine. I still have plenty of RAM, and the usage is only 20%, I believe my fan is also running at 20%.

Most of my games are installed on D, and all games (Even on C) seem to have this stutter problem. All of them used to run at 80 but now they seem to drop from 70 to 29 at most. I can supply more info about my computer, probably going to try dusting it off again. Everything else (videos, music, internet.) run fine, the one thing that does concern me though is League of Legends, which seems to suffer less issues but the framerate apparently goes up and down but visually it looks fine without stutter.

LoL is highly optimized for an extremely wied range of hardware, so that's probably why you aren't seeing any problems.

Those FPS issues can be a wide range of issues so for starters I'll say this. HDD/SSD doesn't affect FPS and if you run any kind of HDD program on an SSD you can kill it or damage it reducing its performance and life. Defrag, stress, ect. Don't do it.

Next, let's get your full system specs.

Finally, get some monitoring programs and let's check the temps of both your CPU and GPU.
Coretemp
MSI Afterburner