3d modeling system requirements for current machine

y2adre

In Runtime
I am currently studying for my A+ exam and just looking to attempt a little side hobby of 3d modeling. I have thought of getting autodesk 3dsmax and just had a question. I currently run as my main rig an and fx 6100, 12 gigs of ram 1600mhz, and a Radeon HD 7770 1 gig video card. Do I really need a workstation video card like a firepro or quaddro? Or is my radeon suffice for now? Thx for the assistance

Your system is a little higher than system requirements so it should get the job done. Depending on how they handle GPGPU it probably wouldn't hurt to get a better desktop card with higher floating point but you don't need to be spending several grand on professional cards.

I heard most of the work station cards do not perform as well anymore as the new gaming cards carry more power unless you go with like a 3000 GPU..., lower end quadro cards I was told perform a lot slower than any decent gaming card...
Get yourself a card with 3 gigs of ram and decent transfer rates and you will be better of..,
I am in the same situation, hunting for a new card for the same purpose, 3d modeling / animation and video production...
Cheers from CA

I heard most of the work station cards do not perform as well anymore as the new gaming cards carry more power unless you go with like a 3000 GPU..., lower end quadro cards I was told perform a lot slower than any decent gaming card...
Get yourself a card with 3 gigs of ram and decent transfer rates and you will be better of..,
I am in the same situation, hunting for a new card for the same purpose, 3d modeling / animation and video production...
Cheers from CA
The professional cards based on the same silicon the gaming cards in question are easily way more powerful in their native environment than the gaming cards. Much like how gaming cards are more powerful than pro cards in gaming. The only difference is the target audience and the pricing involved.