What to upgrade next in order to make my PC better for gaming?

Joshking122

Baseband Member
Alright, I just wan't to know what I need to upgrade next to make my PC more suitable for PC gaming..

Here is a link to the model of my PC including all the specs of the computer. HP Pavilion p7-1100 Desktop PC series*-* HP Pavilion p7-1126s Desktop PC Product Specifications - c03042936 - HP Business Support Center
It's a desktop.

Alright.. I'm new to this so please explain me stuff abreviated terms and what the stuff does.
I'm decent, but the thing I don't understand is..
How do I know if the graphics card is good? Like people always say 'OH NVIDIA GTX 500' bla bla bla, but how do I know if the accual device is like good.
I mean I can buy a super crappy graphics card and the name sounds cool and stuff.
How can I identify if a video card is good? Also does it matter about my computer? Or can I just put it in?

I know how processors are determined, it's by the GHz, am I right?
Just, tell me how this works please :) So once you tell me I can learn and I won't be such a noob at this.

Last edited:
A processors speed is not rated by its speed in GHz when comparing cross gen and cross brand IE: Core i5 3570k to Core i5 4670k or Core i5 4670k to AMD FX 8350. There are a ton of considerations to take in when comparing CPUs. The first and foremost being architectural benefits in performance, IPC, single threaded performance, amount of cores (depending on application), and finally the last being GHz. For instance, there are 3GHz Intel processors that beat 5GHz AMD chips. The other considerations being age, memory bandwidth, memory channels, platform, application (gaming/productivity/casual), and price. Unless you have a full understanding of how a CPU works it's hard to put in small paragraph writing everything you may need to know. I go a little into detail in my thread here, but I don't think it's in depth enough for what you're seaking.