Question about Gaming vs CAD vs Photo/Video Editing Rigs

y2adre

In Runtime
Hello,

Ive been building systems for about 7 yrs now, heavy, but I always here ppl say their machines are good for gaming or good for CAD or good for photo/video editing.

I am asking what is the main differences, what would make a great machine for say photo or video editing over gaming. Or cad over gaming. Please dont give me smart alek answers.

I have built gaming rigs and htpc a lot and have a main rig for my gaming and streaming videos so I kind of know what incorporates gaming rigs and rigs that have stream multiple movies through the house.

Thanks for the help and I ask just in case I get requests like this and the web always gives u mixed reviews. You guys havent steered me wrong yet.

These days there isn't much difference. The biggest thing here is how serious they are into one side or the other, and of course the budget.

Somebody who won't game and is serious about their productivity I would try to utilize all their budget in a socket 2011 hex with 16-32GB of RAM and a large SSD while only having something like a GT640 (again depending on budget) for a GPU.

A gamer can get away without having a large amount of cores, and HT is worthless in gaming. So i5s are the perfect territory for this, although any desktop quad i5 variant is perfectly fine to do any amount of editing.

So like I said, it really all depends on the seriousness and the budget.