What should I do?

jlonghammer

Beta member
I have 8 years in the navy when I get out next year, while I've been in I managed to get a lot of certificates and build my resume up to a substantial amount, but with all this I still don't know where I stand. What I have is:

CompTIA A+, Net+, Sec+, Storage and Linux

Cisco CCENT and CCNA

ISC SSCP

Microsoft MicrosoftTS Windows Server Virtualization, Configuring 70-652, Microsoft TS Windows Server 2008 R2, Server Virtualization 70-659 and Microsoft TS Windows Server 2008 R2, Desktop Virtualization 70-669 ( basically making it a MCITP, but a strange one)

ITIL v3 Foundations (ITV3F)

I also have 3 Department of Labor apprenticeships Computer Programming, Internetworking Technician and Computer Operator.

Lastly I have a Diploma in Database Management (Oracle 11G) Associates in Information System and in 6 months I will have a Bachelor in Information System what an emphasis in Cyber Security all from Strayer University.

I realize that I have a lot of stuff all over the place and that I could potentially do anything from programming to networking all the way to security, but I am a horrible test taker and when I have to read a lot of information like on a CISSP I lose track, my question is what kind of job should I go from. I love networking but I know more money is in security, and I have a background in programming but I don't like programming and I hate SQL to tell you the truth. I love being an administrator weather it UNIX, Red Hat or Windows, but I have a family and I need to take care of them.

Final note what kind of job should I look for and say I live down south how much should I ask for, do you think I should try to get a manager's position?

What job do you currently do in the Navy? If you enjoy that then my suggestion is to look for a similar position after you separate.